DATE: THURSDAY, AUGUST 4, 2016

TIME: 11:00 A.M.

KIND OF MEETING: FAREWELL CEREMONY FOR DR. OTHA BURTON, JR., AND

INDUCTION CEREMONY FOR BOARD MEMBER

MS. KIMBERLY L. CAMPBELL, ESQ

WHERE HELD: 621 SOUTH STATE STREET JACKSON, MS 39201

PRESIDING OFFICERS: MS. BENETA D. BURT, BOARD PRESIDENT

AND

DR. CEDRICK GRAY, SUPERINTENDENT

MEMBERS PRESENT: MS. BENETA D. BURT, BOARD PRESIDENT

MR. RICKEY D. JONES, VICE PRESIDENT

MRS. CAMILLE S. SIMMS, SECRETARY

MR. JED OPPENHEIM, MEMBER DR. RICHARD LIND, MEMBER MR. KODI D. HOBBS, MEMBER

MS. KIMBERLY L. CAMPBELL, ESQ.

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: NONE

ATTORNEYS AND ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

Dr. Cedrick Gray

Dr. Margrit Wallace

Ms. Chinelo Evans

Ms. Saundra Lyons

Ms. Sharolyn Miller

Dr. Freddrick Murray

Dr. Michelle King

Ms. Stephanie Nelson

Mr. Sherwin Johnson

Ms. Chinelo Evans

Ms. Chinelo Evans

Ms. Chinelo Evans

Ms. Fred D. Davis

Dr. William Merritt, IV

Dr. Mario Miller

Mrs. Vikki D. Mumford, Board Secretary, was keeper of record for this board meeting.

A FAREWELL RECEPTION for Dr. Otha Burton, Jr., was held in conjunction with an INDUCTION CEREMONY for Ms. Kimberly L. Campbell, Esq., who replaces Dr. Burton. The ceremony took place Thursday, August 4, 2016, between 11:00 A.M. and 11:30 A.M., immediately following the DISTRICT'S ANNUAL CONVOCATION SERVICES.

Upon Dr. Burton receiving a gaveled plaque for his service, he gave expressions relative to his joy of being a servant for the children of this District. He added that he was enriched by his six (6) years of service, from April 2010 to June 30, 2016.

Ms. Campbell took the oath of office at 11:11 A.M. with Reverend Dock S. Cooper, III rendering the oath. She was pinned by her father Mr. Leon Campbell, a retired teacher and coach of this District. Ms. Campbell made expressions relative to the business of her schedule, and to serve on this board is worthy of making a personal sacrifice. Her aim is to become a voice for those who have no voice. Ms. Campbell State Director of the AARP and is the mother of three daughters. She was appointed by Mayor Tony Yarber for a five (5) year term that ends June 30, 2021.



For Release: Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Subject: School Board Meeting, August 4, 2016, at 11:00 a.m.

Contact: Sherwin Johnson, JPS Public and Media Relations, 601-960-8935

The regular schedule Jackson Public Schools' Board of Trustees meeting was moved from August 2 to August 4, 2016, at 11 a.m.

Jackson Public Schools' Board of Trustees new board member, Kimberly Campbell, will take the oath of office before the regular meeting of the Board on August 4. Her appointment by Mayor Tony Yarber was approved by the City Council in July 2016. A reception will be held to welcome Campbell as well as to honor the service of outgoing Board member, Dr. Otha Burton Jr.

The meeting and reception will be held in the School Board Meeting Room located at 621 S. State Street and available on the JPS ITV You Tube Channel at a later date.



BOARD OF TRUSTEES, SUPERINTENDENT AND ATTORNEYS Jackson Public School District 662 South President Street Jackson, MS 39201 Post Office Box 2338 Jackson, MS 39225

(601) 973-8625 Fax: 601/960-0324 Contact Information for Board Members for 2016-2017 School Year

	Information for Board Members fo		
Name and Occupation	Ward and Address	Phone	Title
Ms. Beneta D. Burt Executive Director Mississippi Road Map to Health Equity, Inc. Jackson, MS 39213	Ward 3 5 Autumn Cove Jackson, MS 39206 bburt@jackson.k12.ms.us benetaburt@bellsouth.net	Home: (601) 362-5987 Work: (601) 987-6783 Cell: (601) 951-9273	Board President
Mr. Rickey D. Jones Certified Business Counselor, MS Small Business Development Center & Realtor Jackson, MS	Ward 5 1020 Dewey Street Jackson, MS 39209 Rickeyjones33@gmail.com rickeyj@jackson.k12.ms.us	Cell 769/218-9124	Vice President
Mrs. Camille Stutts Simms, Insurance Broker and Retail Store Co-Owner 3300 Edgewood Terrace Suite B Jackson, MS 39206	Ward 4 2451 Montebello Dr. Jackson, MS 39213 camillesimms07@gmail.com csimms@jackson.k12.ms.us	Cell: 601/918- 8076 Business: 769-216-2587	Secretary
Mr. Jed H. Oppenheim Program Officer Kellogg Foundation 125 South Congress Suite 100 Jackson, MS 39201	Ward 7 1805 Devine Street Jackson, MS 39202 joppenheim@jackson.k12.ms.us jedopp@gmail.com	Cell: (310)994-1841	Member
Dr. Richard Lind Director of Food Service Manager-CMMC Medical Center Jackson, MS 39204	Ward 6 111 Oakridge Drive Jackson, MS 39212 Rlins38599@aol.com rilind@jackson.k12.ms.us	Cell: (601) 672-5595 Home: (601)373-8931	Member
Mr. Kodi Hobbs The Hobbs Group LLC Alfa Insurance Agency Hobbs Properties Jackson, MS 39211	Ward 1 114 Cativo Dr. Jackson, MS 39211 khobbs@alfains.com Kodih@jackson.k12.ms.us	Cell 601/454-9319	Member
Ms. Kimberly L. Campbell Esq., State Dir. AARP 141 Township Ave. Suite 302 Ridgeland MS 39157	Ward 2 1062 Devonshire Drive Jackson, MS 39206 kcampbell@jackson.k12.ms.us Kimberlycampbell3@att.net	Cell: 601/622-7880	Member
Dr. Cedrick Gray, Superintendent, JPSD	cegray@jackson.k12.us.us	Work: (601) 960-8725	Superintendent
Ms. Joanne Shepherd District Counsel, JPSD	P.O. Box 2338 Jackson, MS 39225-2338 jnelson@jackson.k12.ms.us	Work: (601) 960-8916 Fax: (601) 973-8545	District Counsel
Ms. Dorian Turner Board Attorney, JPSD	deturner@detpllc.com http://www.jackson.k12.ms.us FAX 601/354-3656	Cell:601/942- 8346 (601) 354-2971	Board Attorney

On August 4, 2016, Ms. Kimberly L. Campbell, Esq., took the oath of office as a board member to replace Dr. Otha Burton, Jr., whose term expired June 30, 2016. Dr. Cedrick Gray is Superintendent of this District; the Hon. Johnne N. Shepherd is District Counsel and the Hon. Dorian Turner is Board Attorney. Mrs. Vikki D. Mumford is Secretary to the Board of Trustees. Her contact information is: Vmumford@jackson.kl2.ms.us, and the board office direct line is 601/973-8625.



Jackson Public Schools

The Jackson Public School District 621 South State Street Jackson, MS 39225

Induction Ceremony for Board Member of Jackson Public Schools

Thursday, August 4, 2016 11:00 A.M.

Nominee of the Jackson Public Schools' Board of Trustees



Ms. Kimberly L. Campbell, Esq.

Program

Call to Order
Presentation of Plaque to Dr. Otha Burton, Jr., Outgoing Board Member
Expressions
Rendering of Oath of OfficeRev. Dock S. Cooper, III Pastor, Agape Christian Fellowship Church Jackson, MS
Pinning of the Board Member
Expressions
Closing PrayerRev. Dock S. Cooper, III Jackson, MS
Adjournment

Adjournment
August 4, 2016, Farewell and Induction Ceremony
Board File

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned by Rev. Dock S. Cooper, III rendering the closing prayer.

Ms. Beneta D. Burt, Board President

Ms. Camille S. Simms Board Secretary