THE JACKSON PUBLIC SCHOOL BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING TO DISCUSS TRANSPORTATION WITH STUDENT FIRST

621 SOUTH STATE STREET JACKSON, MS 39201 TUESDAY, MAY 16, 2017 4:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

Board Members Present

Ms. Beneta D. Burt, President

Mr. Rickey D. Jones, Vice President

Ms. Camille S. Simms, Secretary

Mr. Jed Oppenheim, Member

Dr. Richard Lind, Member

Board Members Absent

Mr. Kodi Hobbs, Member Counsel

Ms. Kimberly L. Campbell, Member, Esq.

Attorneys and Administrative Staff

Dr. Freddrick Murray, Interim Supt.

Hon. JoAnne Shepherd, District Counsel

Dr. Margrit Wallace, Chief AO

Dr. Jason Sargent, Chief of Staff

Mr. Sherwin Johnson, Comm. Dir.

Hon. Dorian Turner, Board Attorney

Secretary to Board of Trustees

Mrs. Vikki D. Mumford

Student First Executives

Mr. Fred Smith, Mr. Paul Osland,

Mr. Tony Vidrine and Ms. Liz Sanchez

- I. Dr. Freddrick Murray, Interim Superintendent, gave opening remarks and stated the purpose of this meeting. He acknowledged the presence of Student First executives. They were later allowed to introduce themselves as stated above. Dr. Murray then turned the meeting over to Ms. Beneta D. Burt. She called the meeting to order at 4:05 P.M. and established that a quorum was present.
- II. Establishment of a Quorum: Four (4) members were present: Ms. Beneta D. Burt, Mr. Rickey D. Jones, Ms. Camille S. Simms and Mr. Jed Oppenheim. Dr. Richard Lind was tardy, arriving at 4:15 P.M. Mr. Kodi D. Hobbs and Ms. Kimberly Campbell were absent from the meeting.
- III. Student First, Transportation Executives: These three men and one woman were asked to explain what their contribution would be to the Jackson Public School District, in the area of transportation when and if they are board approved. A question and answer session was allowed at the end of their presentation. A copy of their service manual had been provided earlier to each board member for their review.

A copy of their manual in response to the 5:30 P.M. Regular Meeting Agenda item: VIII. was thoroughly discussed: Approval to Award RFP 2017-03 for Student Transportation Services to First Student.



For Release: Friday, May 12, 2017

Subject: School Board Meeting, May 16, 2017, at 5:30 p.m.

Contact: Sherwin Johnson, JPS Public and Media Relations, 601-960-8935

The Board of Trustees of Jackson Public Schools will hold their regular meeting at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 16, 2017, in the School Board meeting room at 621 South State Street. The Board also will take into consideration any other matter properly coming before the Board. The meeting will be telecast live on JPS Instructional Television on Comcast Channel 19 and available on the JPS ITV You Tube Channel at a later date.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES, SUPERINTENDENT AND ATTORNEYS Jackson Public School District 662 South President Street Jackson, MS 39201 Post Office Box 2338 Jackson, MS 39225

(601) 973-8625 Fax: 601/960-0324 Contact Information for Board Members for 2016-2017 School Year

Name and Occupation	Information for Board Members for Ward and Address	Phone	Title
Ms. Beneta D. Burt Executive Director Mississippi Road Map to Health Equity, Inc. Jackson, MS 39213	Ward 3 5 Autumn Cove Jackson, MS 39206 bburt@jackson.k12.ms.us benetaburt@bellsouth.net	Home: (601) 362-5987 Work: (601) 987-6783 Cell: (601) 951-9273	Board President
Mr. Rickey D, Jones Certified Business Counselor, MS Small Business Development Center & Realtor Jackson, MS	Ward 5 1020 Dewey Street Jackson, MS 39209 Rickeyjones33@gmail.com rickeyj@jackson.k12.ms.us	Cell 769/218-9124	Vice President
Mrs. Camille Stutts Simms, Insurance Broker and Retail Store Co-Owner 3300 Edgewood Terrace Suite B Jackson, MS 39206	Ward 4 2451 Montebello Dr. Jackson, MS 39213 camillesimms07@gmail.com csimms@jackson.k12.ms.us	Cell: 601/918- 8076 Business: 769-216-2587	Secretary
Mr. Jed H. Oppenheim Program Officer Kellogg Foundation 125 South Congress Suite 100 Jackson, MS 39201	Ward 7 1805 Devine Street Jackson, MS 39202 joppenheim@jackson.k12.ms.us jedopp@gmail.com	Cell: (310)994-1841	Member
Dr. Richard Lind Director of Food Service Manager-CMMC Medical Center Jackson, MS 39204	Ward 6 111 Oakridge Drive Jackson, MS 39212 Rlind38599@aol.com rilind@jackson.k12.ms.us	Cell: (601) 672-5595 Home: (601) 373-8931	Member
Dr. Freddrick Murray, Interim Supt. JPSD 11-17-16	fmurray@jackson.k12.us.us	Work: (601) 960-8725	Interim Supt. JPSD 11-17-16
Ms. Joanne Shepherd District Counsel, JPSD	P.O. Box 2338 Jackson, MS 39225-2338 jnelson@jackson.k12.ms.us	Work: (601) 960-8916 Fax: (601) 973-8545	District Counsel
Ms. Dorian Turner Board Attorney, JPSD	deturner@detpllc.com http://www.jackson.kl2.ms.us FAX 601/354-3656	Cell:601/942- 8346 (601) 354-2971	Board Attorney

On November 17, 2016, Dr. Freddrick Murray became Interim Superintendent of the Jackson Public School District, succeeding former Superintendent Dr. Cedrick Gray. The Honorable Johnne N. Shepherd is District Counsel and the Honorable Dorian E. Turner is Board Attorney. Ms. Vikki D. Mumford is Secretary to the Board of Trustees and can be reached at: Vmumford@jackson.kl2.ms.us, and by telephone at 601/973-8625.

THE JACKSON PUBLIC SCHOOL BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO DISCUSS TRANSPORTATION PROPOSAL WITH STUDENT FIRST SPECIAL MEETING AGENDA TUESDAY MAY 16, 2017

- I. Meeting called to Order Ms. Beneta Burt, Board President
 Opening Remarks Dr. Freddrick Murray, Interim Supt.
- II. Establishment of a Quorum
- III. Presentations from Executives of Student First
- IV. Adjournment

IV. Adjournment

Mr. Rickey D. Jones moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Mr. Jed Oppenheim. All five members present voted "aye" in favor of the motion.

May 16, 2017 Special Meeting to Discuss Transportation

The Special Meeting was adjourned at 5:05 P.M.

I, the undersigned, President, Ms. Beneta D. Burt and I, Ms. Camille S. Simms, Secretary of the Board of Trustees, attest to Ms. Beneta D. Burt's signature. I, Ms. Beneta D. Burt, do hereby certify that the above and foregoing minutes are a true and correct copy of the actions of the Board of Trustees at its special meeting held at 4:00 P.M. on Tuesday, May 16, 2017, as the same that appears on record in Minute Book of said Board.

GIVEN under my hand, this the 17th day of May, 2017.

Ms. Beheta D. Burt/ Board President

Ms. Camille Simms, Board Secretary

Date