Jackson Public School DISTRICT 621 SOUTH STATE STREET JACKSON, MS 39201 SPECIAL MEETING OF THE JACKSON PUBLIC SCHOOL BOARD OF TRUSTEES Tuesday, February 22, 2018 1:00 P.M.

Board Members Present	Attorneys and Administrative Staff
Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, President	Dr. Freddrick Murray, Interim Supt
Dr. Ed Sivak, Jr. Vice President	Hon. Dorian Turner, Board Attorney
Mrs. Barbara Hilliard, Secretary	Hon. JoAnne Shepherd, Dist. Counsel
Mrs. Andrea Jones, Member	Mr. Sherwin Johnson, Communications
Mrs. Letitia S. Johnson, Member	Ms. Sharolyn Miller, CFO
Dr. Robert Luckett, Member	Ms. Saundra Lyons, Ex. Director HR
	Dr. Calvin Lockett, Deputy Supt
Secretary to the Board	Dr. Jason Sargent, Accountability Dept.
Rosalind Williams	Dr. Otha Belcher, Asst. Supt Area I
	Ms. Laketia Thomas, Asst. Supt Area II
Others Present	Mr. Gary Hannah, Asst. Supt Area III
Members of the Public	Dr. Michelle King, Asst. Supt Area IV

- I. <u>Call to Order</u>: The Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Jackson Public School District was called to order at 1:05 P. M. by Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Board President, on February 22, 2018.
- II. Establishment of Quorum: A quorum was established as all six (6) members were present, namely: Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Dr. Ed Sivak, Mrs. Barbara Hilliard, Mrs. Andrea Jones, Mrs. Letitia Johnson and Dr. Robert Luckett.
- III. <u>Adoption of Agenda</u>: Dr. Robert Luckett moved that the Board adopt the agenda as presented; Mrs. Letitia Johnson second; Votes cast for the motion: Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Dr. Ed Sivak, Mrs. Barbara Hilliard, Mrs. Andrea Jones, Mrs. Letitia Johnson and Dr. Robert Luckett; Votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- IV. Information/Action Items:
 - a. <u>Approval of Revisions and Edits to the Corrective Action Plan:</u> The Board voted to amend the CAP regarding the organizational chart and strategic plan as recommended by Dr. Hairston. Dr. Ed Sivak motioned, Mrs. Letitia Johnson second; Votes cast for the motion: Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Dr. Ed Sivak, Mrs. Barbara Hilliard, Mrs. Andrea Jones, Mrs. Letitia Johnson and Dr. Robert Luckett; Votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

The Board voted to approve the acceptance of the Amended Corrective Action Plan. Mrs. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Robert Luckett second; Votes cast for the motion: Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Dr. Ed Sivak, Mrs. Barbara Hilliard, Mrs. Andrea Jones, Mrs. Letitia Johnson and Dr. Robert Luckett; Votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

- b. Update and Approval of Make-up Days for Staff: Mrs. Sharolyn Miller, Chief Financial Officer of the Jackson Public School District, updated the Board about the opinion of the Attorney General's Office regarding the classified staff. The Board discussed the Make-up Days for Staff and took no action.
- V. <u>Consideration to Hold an Executive Session:</u> Dr. Ed Sivak moved, and Dr. Robert Luckett seconded the motion, to enter into executive session to discuss a settlement of the Drodriguez Williams et al v. JPS (the handcuffing cases) and to receive an update regarding the E. Cornell Malone construction dispute. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.



For Release: February 21, 2018

Subject: JPS Board of Trustees to Host Special Meeting

Contact: Sherwin Johnson, JPS Public and Media Relations, 601-960-8935

The Board of Trustees will host a special meeting regarding the Corrective Action Plan and make up days for staff on **Thursday, February 22, 2018**, at 1 p.m. in the School Board Meeting Room located at 621 South State Street.

The Board also will take into consideration any other matter properly coming before the Board.



Jackson Public Schools

FINAL AGENDA

Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees JACKSON PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT

DATE: February 22, 2018 TIME: 1:00 PM PLACE: 621 S. President Street Jackson, MS 39201

- I. Call to Order
- II. Establishment of Quorum
- III. Adoption of Agenda
- IV. Information / Action Items:
 - a. Approval of Revisions and Edits to the Corrective Action Plan
 - b. Update and Approval of Make-up Days for Staff

Dr. William Merritt, IV Executive Director of School Improvement Ms. Sharolyn Miller, Chief Financial Officer

- V. Consideration to Hold an Executive Session
- VI. Adjourn

In executive session, Attorney Shepherd updated the board on the status of the bodily injury claims of Drodriguez Williams, Jacobia Carey, Rodrigus Carey, Monterius Griffin, Larry Johnson, Octavius Taylor, Justin Tillman (now deceased), Barry Wallace, Anthony Willis and Anthony Murray. The parties have reached a proposed settlement of \$15,000.00 per person for a total of \$150,000.00. The district's insurer, Trident Insurance, will cover \$120,000.00 of the settlement, to be paid to eight of the claimants, and the district is responsible for the remaining \$30,000, which will be paid to the two remaining claimants. Attorney Shepherd recommended that the board approve the settlement of \$15,000.00 per claimant, for a total of \$150,000, with the district paying its share of \$30,000.00 to be paid to claimants, Anthony Murray and the Estate of Justin Tillman. After discussing the matter, Mrs. Barbara Hilliard moved, and Mrs. Letitia Johnson seconded the motion, to approve Attorney Shepherd's recommendation. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

Next, Attorney Shepherd updated the board on the status of the E. Cornell Malone construction dispute and recommended that the board authorize the employment of Robert Gibbs as mediator. After discussion, Mrs. Barbara Hilliard moved, and Mrs. Letitia Johnson seconded the motion, to approve the employment of Robert Gibbs as mediator in the E. Cornell Malone construction dispute. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

There being no further business to discuss in executive session, Dr. Robert Luckett moved, and Mrs. Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to exit executive session. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

Back in open session, Dr. Robert Luckett moved, and Mrs. Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion and the meeting was adjourned.

Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Board President

Mrs. Barbara Hilliard, Board Secretary

Date