Jackson Public School DISTRICT 621 SOUTH STATE STREET JACKSON, MS 39201

REGULAR MEETING OF THE JACKSON PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

5:30 P.M.

Board Members Present
Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, President
Dr. Ed Sivak, Vice President
Andrea Jones, Member
Barbara Hilliard, Secretary
Letitia Johnson, Member
Frank Figgers, Member
Dr. Robert Luckett, Member

Attorneys and Administrative Staff
Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent
Dr. Michael Cormack, Chief of Staff
Hon. Dorian Turner, Board Attorney
JoAnne N. Shepherd, General Counsel
Dr. Freddrick Murray, MS Asst. Supt.
Saundra Lyons, Ex. Director HR
Sharolyn Miller, CFO
Laketia Thomas, High School Asst. Supt
Sherwin Johnson, Communications
Dionne Woody, Elem. Asst. Supt.
Pam Franklin, Elem. Asst. Supt.
Dr. Kathleen Grigsby, Elem. Asst. Supt.

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

Others Present
Members of the Public

- I. Call to Order, Pledge to the Flag and Words of Encouragement: The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Jackson Public School District was called to order at 5:31 P. M. by Letitia S. Johnson, Board President, on October 1, 2019. She extended greetings to all and called for the scholars, who would lead the Pledge of Allegiance and Words of Encouragement.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum:</u> A quorum was established as all six (6) members were present, namely: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Jeanne Hairston Dr. Robert Luckett and Frank Figgers.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Dr. Hairston moved that the Board adopt the agenda as presented; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

IV. Reading and Approving Minutes:

a. September 17, 2019 Regular Board Meeting Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Luckett motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none.

PASSED

V. <u>Superintendent's Report</u>:

- a. Hope Credit Union-Provine Branch
- b. District Performance Data Report
- c. Bond Update

VI. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues:

a. A Partnership for a Healthy Mississippi Health and Wellness Update

VII. Review of Discipline Case(s):

a. October 1, 2019 Discipline Review: Dr. Sivak moved and Dr. Luckett seconded the motion to move review of discipline cases to executive session. Votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr.

Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

VIII. Information Items Only:

a. Review of District Test Security Plan

IX. Information/Action Items:

a. Monthly Financial Report for the month ended August 31, 2019: The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

X. Consent Agenda Items - Finance:

- a. Approval of Accounts Payable and Activity Fund claims for the period of August 17, 2019 through September 13, 2019: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Hairston motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none.

 PASSED
- b. Approval of the Amended Exceptional Education Budget (Fund 1130) for Fiscal Year 2019-2020: The Board voted to approve item b. Dr. Hairston motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- c. <u>Approval of Various Bids:</u> The Board voted to approve item c. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

XI. Consent Agenda Items - General:

- a. Approval of Targeted After-School Program for Third Grade Reading: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Sivak motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval of the memorandum of Understanding between Woodward Hines Education Foundation (WHEF) and the Jackson Public School District: The Board voted to approve item b. Dr. Sivak motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- c. Approval of MOU between the Jackson Public School District (JPSD) and the University of Mississippi Medical Center (STEMI): The Board voted to approve item c. Dr. Sivak motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

XII. Consent Agenda items - Personnel:

a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matters: The Board voted to approve Staff Personnel as presented. Dr. Luckett motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

XIII. Other Business

XIV. Consideration to Hold an Executive Session: Dr. Sivak moved, and Dr. Luckett seconded the motion, to close the meeting to consider entering into executive session. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

Dr. Sivak moved, and Dr. Hairston seconded the motion, to enter into executive session to take up one student discipline matter. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

Board member Letitia Johnson determined to recuse herself from this matter and left the room.

In executive session, the board took up the superintendent's recommendation to place Student No. 001127518 at CCAS for the remainder of the '19-'20 school year for possession of drugs and/or a controlled substance. The board heard from counsel for Student No. 001127518 and members of district administration. Student No. 01127518 admitted to having possession of marijuana. After discussing the matter, Dr. Luckett moved, and Mrs. Hilliard seconded the motion, to fully support the superintendent's recommendation to place Student No. 001127518 at CCAS for the remainder of the '19-'20 school year for possession of drugs and/or a controlled substance. All 5 board members present voted in favor of the motion.

There being no further business to discuss in executive session, Dr. Luckett moved, and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to exit executive session. All 5 board members voted in favor of the motion.

Upon returning to open session, Dr. Hairston then moved, and Dr. Luckett seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. That motion was unanimously approved.

Letitia Johnson, Board President

Date

Barbara Hilliard, Board Secretary

Date