## Jackson Public School DISTRICT 621 SOUTH STATE STREET JACKSON, MS 39201

REGULAR MEETING OF THE JACKSON PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Tuesday, November 4, 2019

5:30 P.M.

Board Members Present
Dr. Ed Sivak, Vice-President
Barbara Hilliard, Secretary
Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Board Member
Frank Figgers, Board Member

Participated via Teleconference Letitia Johnson, Board President Dr. Robert Luckett, Board Member

Attorneys and Administrative Staff Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent Dr. Michael Cormack, Chief of Staff Sharolyn Miller, CFO Hon. JoAnne N. Shepherd, Gen. Counsel Saundra Lyons, Ex. Director HR Dr. Kathleen Grigsby, Elem. Asst. Supt Laketia Thomas, Asst. Supt Sherwin Johnson, Public Engagement Pam Franklin, Elem. Asst. Supt. Dionne Woody, Elem. Asst. Supt. Dr. Kathleen Grigsby, Elem. Asst. Supt. Hon. Dorian Turner, Board Attorney Dr. William Merritt, ED of Fed Programs Dr. Kymyona Burk, ED Teaching/Learning Sandra Robinson, Interim COO

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

Others Present Members of the Public

- I. Call to Order, Pledge to the Flag and Words of Encouragement: The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Jackson Public School District was called to order at 5:33 P. M. by Dr. Ed Sivak, Board Vice-President, on November 4, 2019. He extended greetings to all and called for the scholars, who would lead the pledge of allegiance and give words of encouragement.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum:</u> A quorum was established as four (4) members were present, namely: Dr. Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers and Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston. Letitia Johnson and Dr. Robert Luckett participated via teleconference.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Dr. Hairston moved and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion to approve the amended agenda. Votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

# IV. Reading and Approving Minutes:

- a. October 1, 2019 Board Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Hairston motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- b. October 15, 2019 Board Minutes: The Board voted to approve item b. Dr. Hairston motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

# V. <u>Superintendent's Report</u>:

a. Student Oriented Academic Research (SOAR)

- b. Bond Update
- c. Progress on Meeting Academic Benchmarks & Third Grade Literacy
- VI. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues:

### VII. Review of Discipline Case(s):

a. November 4, 2019 Board Meeting: Dr. Hairston moved and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion to move discipline cases to the end of the meeting. Votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

#### VIII. Information Items Only:

- a. Review of Payments to Certified Staff through the School Recognition Program
- b. Review of Various Budgets for Fiscal Year 2019-2020

#### IX. Information/Action Items:

a. Approval of the Resolution Authorizing and Directing the issuance of a Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note (TAN) on behalf of JPS in the amount of \$20,000,00 for fiscal year 2019-2020: Barbara Hilliard motioned to approve item a; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

#### X. Consent Agenda Items - Finance:

a. Approval of the Accounts Payable Claims Docket and Ratification of Travel and Activity Fund Claims for the period of October 5, 2019 through October 25, 2019: Barbara Hilliard motioned to approve item a; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

### XI. Consent Agenda Items - General:

- a. <u>District to District Transfer (Outgoing)</u>: The Board voted to approve item
   a. Dr. Hairston motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- b. Approval of Agreement between the Jackson Public School District (JPSD) and Five, Inc.: The Board voted to approve item b. Dr. Hairston motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- c. Approval of Mississippi Employer Assisted Housing Teacher Program Loan Agreement: The Board voted to approve item c. Dr. Hairston motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

## XII. Consent Agenda items - Personnel:

a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matters: Dr. Hairston moved that the Board approve staff personnel items as presented; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none.

PASSED

#### XIII. Other Business: None

XIV. Consideration to Hold an Executive Session: Dr. Hairston moved, and Frank Figgers seconded the motion, to close the meeting to consider entering into executive session. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

Barbara Hilliard moved, and Dr. Hairston seconded the motion, to enter into executive session to take up one student discipline matter. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

In executive session, the board took up the superintendent's recommendation to place Student No. 001244566 at CCAS for one calendar year for sexual assault/attack. The board heard from Student No. 001244566 and parent and members of district administration. Student No. 01244566 denied being the perpetrator of the sexual assault/attack, however, the board determined that the evidence supporting Student No. 001244566 as the perpetrator was more compelling. Also, the victim's statement in the record reflected that the victim asked Student No. 001244566 to stop multiple times, and Student No. 001244566 didn't deny the allegation at the hearing. After discussing the matter, Mr. Figgers moved, and Dr. Luckett seconded the motion, to uphold the superintendent's recommendation to place Student No. 001244566 at CCAS for one (1) calendar year. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

There being no further business to discuss in executive session, Dr. Hairston moved, and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to exit executive session. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

Upon returning to open session, Dr. Hairston then moved, and Mrs. Hilliard seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. That motion was unanimously approved.

Letitia Johnson, Board President

November 19, 2019

Barbara Hilliard, Board Secretary

Date

11-19-19