Jackson Public School DISTRICT 621 SOUTH STATE STREET, JACKSON, MS 39201

REGULAR MEETING OF THE JACKSON PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES
Tuesday, February 04, 2020
5:30 P.M.

Board Members Present

Letitia Johnson, President Dr. Ed Sivak, Vice President Barbara Hilliard, Secretary Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member Dr. Robert Luckett, Member Frank Figgers, Member Attorneys and Administrative Staff
Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent
Dr. Michael Cormack, Chief of Staff
Hon. Dorian Turner, Board Attorney
Dr. Kathleen Grigsby, Elem. Asst. Supt.
Dr. Freddrick Murray, MS Asst. Supt.
Saundra Lyons, Ex. Director HR
Sharolyn Miller, CFO
Sherwin Johnson, Communications
Pam Franklin, Elem. Asst. Supt.

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

Others Present
Members of the Public

- I. Call to Order, Pledge to the Flag and Words of Encouragement: The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Jackson Public School District was called to order at 5:32 P. M. by Letitia S. Johnson, Board President, on February 4, 2020. She extended greetings to all and called for the scholars, who would lead the Pledge of Allegiance and Words of Encouragement.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum:</u> A quorum was established as all six (6) members were present, namely: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Dr. Robert Luckett and Frank Figgers.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Dr. Hairston moved that the Board adopt the agenda as presented; Dr. Luckett second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- IV. Reading and Approving Minutes:
 - a. January 21, 2020 Board Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Sivak motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- V. Superintendent's Report:
 - a. Jim Hill High School Scholar: SPEAK
 - b. Bond Update
- VI. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues:
 - a. Tonya Bragg signed up to address the board regarding her allegation that her child was being intimidated by a district employee or employees. The Board voted unanimously to move consideration of this item for discussion during executive session.
- VII. Review of Discipline Case(s):
 - a. February 4, 2020 Board Meeting: None
- VIII. Information Items Only:
 - a. The Partnership for a Healthier Mississippi
 - b. The Partnership for a Healthier Mississippi



For Release: February 03, 2020

Subject: JPS Board of Trustees Regular Meeting

Contact: Sherwin Johnson, JPS Public and Media Relations, 601-960-8935

The Jackson Public Schools' Board of Trustees will host its regular meeting on **Tuesday, February 04, 2020** at **5:30 p.m.** at 621 South State Street.

The Board may also take up any other matters properly coming before the Board.

The meeting will be telecast live on JPS Instructional Television on Comcast Channel 19 and the JPS ITV You Tube Channel and Facebook page.

IX. Consent Agenda Items - Finance:

a. Approval of Accounts Payable Claims Docket and Ratification of Travel and Activity Fund Claims for the period of January 11, 2020 through January 24, 2020: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Luckett motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

X. Consent Agenda Items - General:

- a. Approval of the 2020-2021 Academic Calendar: The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Sivak second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval of the Corrective Action Plan (CAP) for the Jackson Public School

 District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item b. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Sivak second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- c. Approval of the Revised Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between Tougaloo College and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD) for the Continued Implementation of the Michelle Obama Early College High School (MOECHS)

 Program at Tougaloo College: The Board voted to approve item c. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Sivak second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

XI. Consent Agenda items - Personnel:

- a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matters: The Board voted to approve Staff Personnel as presented. Dr. Hairston motioned; Frank Flggers second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- XII. Consideration to Hold an Executive Session: Dr. Hairston moved, and Frank Figgers seconded the motion, to close the meeting to consider entering into executive session. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

Dr. Sivak moved, and Dr. Hairston seconded the motion, to enter into executive session to hear from the parent who signed up to address the board during public participation regarding her allegation that her child was being intimidated by a district employee or employees. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

In executive session, the board heard from the parent and advised her and the superintendent to take up the matter for further investigation. The board took no action.

There being no further business to discuss in executive session, Dr. Luckett moved, and Dr. Hairston seconded the motion, to exit executive session. All 6 board members voted in favor of the motion.

Upon returning to open session, Dr. Sivak them moved, and Dr. Luckett seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. That motion was unanimously approved.

Letitia Johnson, Board President Barbara Hilliard, Board Secretary

2-19-2020 Date 2-19-2020