Jackson Public School District
621 South State Street, Jackson, MS 39201
Virtual Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
5:30 P.M.

Participated via Teleconference Letitia Johnson, President Dr. Ed Sivak, Vice President Barbara Hilliard, Secretary Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member Dr. Robert Luckett, Member Frank Figgers, Member

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

Attorneys and Administrative Staff
Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent
Dr. Michael Cormack, Chief of Staff
Hon. Dorian Turner, Board Attorney
Dr. Kathleen Grigsby, Elem. Asst. Supt.
Dr. Freddrick Murray, MS Asst. Supt.
Saundra Lyons, Ex. Director HR
Sharolyn Miller, CFO
Laketia Thomas, High School Asst. Supt
Sherwin Johnson, Communications
Pamela Franklin, Elem. Asst. Supt.
Dionne Woody, Elem. Asst. Supt.

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Jackson Public School District was shifted to a virtual meeting on May 5, 2020. The meeting was called to order at 5:23 P. M. by Letitia S. Johnson, Board President.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum:</u> A quorum was established as all six (6) members participated via teleconference, namely: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Dr. Robert Luckett and Frank Figgers.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Dr. Luckett moved that the Board adopt the agenda as presented; Dr. Sivak second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- IV. Reading and Approving Minutes:
 - a. April 21, 2020 Board Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Luckett motioned; Dr. Sivak second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- V. Superintendent's Report:
 - a. Bond Update
- VI. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues:
 None
- VII. <u>Information Items Only:</u>
 - a. Review of the Federally Required Career and Technical Education Local Plan Update for FY21 Strengthening Career and Technical Education for the 21st Century Act (Perkins V):
- VIII. Information/Action Items:
 - a. Approval of Various Budgets for Fiscal Year 2019-2020 SY: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Hairston motioned; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none.

 PASSED
 - b. Approval of an Amendment to the Lead Partner Group Contracts (The Bailey Education Group and the Kirkland Group): The Board voted to approve item b. Dr. Sivak motioned; Barbara Hilliard second; votes cast for the motion:



For Release: May 4, 2020

Subject: JPS Board of Trustees Virtual Meeting

Contact: Sherwin Johnson, JPS Public and Media Relations, 601-960-8935

As a response to concerns related to the Coronavirus, the Board of Trustees of Jackson Public Schools will meet via teleconference at 5:30 p.m. on **Tuesday, May 5, 2020**. The Board will not meet in person but will call in to conduct the meeting remotely.

To participate, citizens should call 1-312-626-6799 and submit the Meeting ID: 825-011-6399.

The Board may also take up any other matters properly coming before the Board.

The meeting will be available on the <u>JPS ITV YouTube Channel</u> and <u>Facebook page</u> at a later date.

- Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- c. Approval of the Facilities Agreement between Jackson State University and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item c. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

IX. Consent Agenda Items - Finance:

- a. Approval of the Accounts Payable Claims Docket and Ratification of the travel and Activity Fund Claims for the Period of April 11, 2020 through April 24, 2020: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Sivak motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval to Award Bid # 3122 for the Callaway High School Roof, HVAC, and Gymnasium Renovations: The Board voted to approve item b. Dr. Sivak motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- c. Approval to Award Bid # 3123 for Murrah High School Entry Walkway
 Renovation: The Board voted to approve item c. Dr. Sivak motioned; Dr.
 Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak,
 Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast
 against the motion: none. PASSED

X. Consent Agenda Items - General:

- a. Approval of School-level "School Improvement Plans" for the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE): The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Luckett second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval of Agreement between Jackson Public Schools (JPS) and Public Consulting Group (EdPlan):): The Board voted to approve item b. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Luckett second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

XI. Consent Agenda Items - Personnel:

- a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matters: The Board voted to approve Staff Personnel as presented. Dr. Sivak motioned; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- XII. Consideration to Hold an Executive Session: None
- XIII. <u>Adjourn:</u> Dr. Hairston moved, and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. That motion was unanimously approved. The meeting was adjourned at 6:47 p.m.

Letitia Johnson Board President

Date

Date

Date

Date

Date

Date

Date