Jackson Public School District 621 South State Street, Jackson, MS 39201 Special Virtual Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees Tuesday, June 23, 2020 12:00 P.M.

Participated via Teleconference Letitia Johnson, President Dr. Ed Sivak, Vice President Barbara Hilliard, Secretary Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member Dr. Robert Luckett, Member Frank Figgers, Member

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams Attorneys and Administrative Staff Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent Dr. Michael Cormack, Chief of Staff Hon. Dorian Turner, Board Attorney Dr. Kathleen Grigsby, Elem. Asst. Supt. Dr. Freddrick Murray, MS Asst. Supt. Saundra Lyons, Ex. Director HR Sharolyn Miller, CFO Laketia Thomas, High School Asst. Supt Sherwin Johnson, Communications Pamela Franklin, Elem. Asst. Supt. Dionne Woody, Elem. Asst. Supt.

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> The Special Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District was shifted to a virtual meeting on June 23, 2020. The meeting was called to order at 12:08 P. M. by Letitia S. Johnson, Board President.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum</u>: A quorum was established as all six (6) members participated via teleconference, namely: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Dr. Robert Luckett and Frank Figgers.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Dr. Hairston moved that the Board adopt the agenda as presented; Dr. Sivak second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- IV. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues: none.
- V. Information/Action Items:
 - a. Approval of Standard JPS Professional Service Agreement with Allen and Hoshall for Phase II and III Bond Projects: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Luckett motioned, Dr. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
 - b. Approval of Standard JPS Professional Service Agreement with Eley Guild Hardy for Phase II and III Bond Projects: The Board voted to approve item
 b. Dr. Luckett motioned, Dr. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
 - c. Approval of Standard JPS Professional Service Agreement with Duvall Decker for Phase II and III Bond Projects: The Board voted to approve item c. Dr. Luckett motioned, Dr. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
 - d. Approval of Standard JPS Professional Service Agreement with Durrell Design Group, PLLC for Phase II and III Bond Projects: The Board voted to approve item d. Dr. Luckett motioned, Dr. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the



For Release: June 22, 2020

Subject: JPS Board of Trustees Regular Meeting

Contact: Sherwin Johnson, JPS Public Engagement, 601-960-8935

As a response to concerns related to the Coronavirus, the Jackson Public Schools Board of Trustees will meet via teleconference on **Tuesday**, **June 23**, **2020**, at **12:00** p.m. Board members will not meet in person but will call in to conduct the meeting remotely.

To participate, citizens should follow the following steps:

- Call 1-312-626-6799.
- Submit the Meeting ID: 825-011-6399.
- Enter the Password: 482416.

Community members who would like to make public comments should:

- Email their request to make comment to <u>roswilliams@jackson.k12.ms.us</u> no later than11:45 p.m.; OR
- Call into the meeting between 11:30 a.m. and 11:45 a.m. to indicate their desire to comment.

Participants' lines will be unmuted at the public comment portion, and they will be granted the selected time frame to comment.

The meeting will be available on our YouTube channel and Facebook page at a later date.

The Board may also take up any other matters properly coming before the Board.

motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

- e. Approval of Standard JPS Professional Service Agreement with Canizaro Cawthon Davis for Phase II and III Bond Projects: The Board voted to approve item e. Dr. Luckett motioned, Dr. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- f. Approval of Standard JPS Professional Service Agreement with M3A <u>Architecture for Phase II and III Bond Projects:</u> The Board voted to approve item f. Dr. Luckett motioned, Dr. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- g. Approval of Standard JPS Professional Service Agreement with JBHM <u>Architecture for Phase II and III Bond Projects:</u> The Board voted to approve item g. Dr. Luckett motioned, Dr. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- h. Approval of Standard JPS Professional Service Agreement with Southern Consultants Inc. for Phase II and III Bond Projects: The Board voted to approve item h. Dr. Luckett motioned, Dr. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- VI. Consent Agenda Items Finance:
 - a. Approval of the Resolution Requesting Ad Valorem Support for the Jackson Public School District for the 2020-2021 Fiscal Year: The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Sivak second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
 - b. Approval of the Various Budgets for Fiscal Year 2020-2021: The Board voted to approve item b. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Sivak second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Dr. Hairston and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- VII. Consent Agenda Items Personnel:
 - a. <u>Approval of Staff Personnel Matters</u>: The Board voted to approve Staff Personnel as presented. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Luckett second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- VIII. Consideration to Hold an Executive Session: None.
 - IX. <u>Adjourn:</u> Dr. Hairston moved, and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. That motion was unanimously approved. The meeting was adjourned at 12:14 p.m.

Board President ohnson

8/12/2020 Date 8/12/2020 Date

ard. Board Secretary