Jackson Public School District Special Virtual Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees Monday, June 29, 2020 12:00 P.M.

Participated via Teleconference
Letitia Johnson, President
Dr. Ed Sivak, Vice President
Barbara Hilliard, Secretary
Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member
Dr. Robert Luckett, Member
Frank Figgers, Member

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams Attorneys and Administrative Staff
Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent
Dr. Michael Cormack, Chief of Staff
Hon. Dorian Turner, Board Attorney
Dr. Kathleen Grigsby, Elem. Asst. Supt.
Dr. Freddrick Murray, MS Asst. Supt.
Saundra Lyons, Ex. Director HR
Sharolyn Miller, CFO
Laketia Thomas, High School Asst. Supt
Sherwin Johnson, Communications
Pamela Franklin, Elem. Asst. Supt.
Dionne Woody, Elem. Asst. Supt.

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> The Special Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District was shifted to a virtual meeting on June 29, 2020. The meeting was called to order at 12:01 P. M. by Letitia S. Johnson, Board President.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum:</u> A quorum was established as all six (6) members participated via teleconference, namely: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Jeanne Hairston, Dr. Robert Luckett and Frank Figgers.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Dr. Luckett moved that the Board approve, as amended, to add under Information/Action Items, recommendation to reopen schools and offices.; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- IV. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues:

V. Information/Action Items:

- a. Approval to Purchase Insurance Policies for Jackson Public Schools (JPS):
 The Board voted to approve item a, including the approval of the Risk
 Management Consulting Agreement. Dr. Hairston motioned, Dr. Sivak
 seconded; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara
 Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against
 the motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval of Recommendation to Re-open Schools and Offices: The Board voted to approve item b. Dr. Luckett motioned, Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers and Dr. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

VI. Consent Agenda Items - Personnel:

- a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matters: The Board voted to approve Staff Personnel as presented. Barbara Hilliard motioned; Dr. Hairston second; votes cast for the motion: Letitia Johnson, Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Dr. Luckett and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- VII. Consideration to Hold an Executive Session: None.



For Release: June 26, 2020

Subject: JPS Board of Trustees Regular Meeting

Contact: Sherwin Johnson, JPS Public Engagement, 601-960-8935

As a response to concerns related to the Coronavirus, the Jackson Public Schools Board of Trustees will meet via teleconference on **Tuesday**, **June 29**, **2020**, at **12:00** p.m. Board members will not meet in person but will call in to conduct the meeting remotely.

To participate, citizens should follow the following steps:

- Call 1-312-626-6799.
- Submit the Meeting ID: 825-011-6399.
- Enter the Password: 482416.

Community members who would like to make public comments should:

- Email their request to make comment to <u>roswilliams@jackson.k12.ms.us</u> no later than11:45 p.m.; OR
- Call into the meeting between 11:30 a.m. and 11:45 a.m. to indicate their desire to comment.

Participants' lines will be unmuted at the public comment portion, and they will be granted the selected time frame to comment.

The meeting will be available on our YouTube channel and Facebook page at a later date.

The Board may also take up any other matters properly coming before the Board.

VIII. Adjourn: Dr. Luckett moved, and Barbara Hilliard second adjourn the meeting. That motion was unanimously approved adjourned at 12:15 p.m.	
A11120 8/13	2020
Letita Johnson, Board President Dat	‡
Rarbara Hilliard 8/8 Barbara Hilliard, Board Secretary	12020