Special Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees June 30, 2023 5:30 p.m.

Board Members via Teleconference Dr. Ed Sivak, President Barbara Hilliard, Vice-President Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member Frank Figgers, Member Mitch McGuffey, Member Letitia Johnson

Attorneys and Administrative Staff Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent Dorian Turner, Board Attorney Larrissa Moore, ESQ., General Counsel Dr. Michael Cormack, Deputy Supt. Earl Burke, Chief Operations Officer William M. Merritt, IV., Chief of Staff Elem., Middle & High School Asst. Supt.

Board Members Absent Cynthia Thompson, Me.mber

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

- I. Call to Order: Ed Sivak, Jr., Board President, called the Special Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District to order on June 30, 2023, at 12:05 P. M.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum</u>: A quorum was established as six (6) members, namely, Dr. Ed Sivale, Frank Figgers, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Letitia Johnson, and Mitch McGuffey participated via video/teleconference. Cynthia Thompson was absent from the meeting.
- III. Adopt.ion of Agenda: Dr. Hairston moved that the Board adopt the agenda as presented; Letitia Johnson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Frank Figge.rs, Or. Jeanne M. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, Letitia Johnson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none.

IV. Information/Action Item(s):
a. Approval of Award of Bank Depositories Services (RFP 2023-11) for July 1, 2023-June 30, 2024, to Trustmark National Bank: The Board voted to approve item a. Mitch McGuffey moved; Letitia Johnson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey Letitia Johnson, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

V. Consent Agenda Items - General:

- Approval of Various Policies for Amendment/Creation/Deletion: BBBC - Board Member Compensation and Expenses, OHB - Financial Reports and Statements, GAOJ - Personal Leave Chart, GADEAA - Worker's Compensation, GAE - Employment - Related Grievances and Compl-aints, GAEE - Procedures for Employee Complaints of Bullying or Harassing Behavior; Deletion: GAEE - Procedures for Employee Complaints of Bullying or Harassing Behavior: The Board voted to approve item a. Frank Figgers moved; Letitia Johnson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, Letitia Johnson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval- of Agreement between The University of Southern Mississippi (USM) and the Jackson Public School Dist.ti.ct (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item b. Frank Figgers moved; Letitia Johnson seconded; votes cast for the Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Letitia Johnson, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none.

- c. Approval of District to District Transfer (Outgoing): The Board voted to approve item c. Frank Figgers moved; Letitia Johnson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston, Letitia Johnson, Mitch McGuffey and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none.
- VI. Consent Agenda Items Personnel.: a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matter: Barbara Hilliard moved to approve Staff Personnel as presented; Mitch McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Barbara Hilliard, Dr. Hairston, Letitia Johnson, and Mitch McGuffey; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- VII. Consideration to Bold Executive Session: Letitia Johnson moved, and Barbara Billiard seconded the motion, to enter into executive session to discuss and receive an update concerning legal issues and potential litigation regarding Entergy's closeout plan for Lake Hico. The motion was unanimously approved.

In executive session, the board received an update regarding, and discussed, legal issues and potential litigation regarding Entergy's closeout plan for Lake Hico. The board took no action regarding this matter.

There being no further business to discuss in executive session, Barbara Hilliard moved, and Dr. Hairston seconded the motion, to exit executive session. The motion was unanimously approved.

VIII. Adjourn: Back in open session, there being no further business, Dr. Hairston moved, and Frank Figgers seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. motion was unanimously approved and the meeting was adjourned.

Cynthia Thompson, Board Secretary