Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees October 3, 2023 5:30 p.m.

Board Members in Person
Dr. Ed Sivak, President
Barbara Hilliard, Vice-President
Cynthia Thompson, Member
Mitch McGuffey, Member
Frank Figgers, Member

Attorneys and Adminisuative Staff
Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent
Dorian Turner, Board Attorney
Larrissa Moore, ESQ., General Counsel
Dr. Michael Cormack, Deputy Supt.
Earl Burke, Chief Operations Officer
William M. Merritt, IV., Chief of Staff
Elem., Middle & High School Asst. Supt.

Board Member via Teleconference
Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> Ed Sivak, Jr., Board President, called the Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District to order on October 3, 2023, at 5:32 P. M.
- II. Establishment of Quorum: A quorum was established as six (6) members, namely, Dr. Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston and Cynthia Thompson were present or participated via video/teleconference.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Frank Figgers moved that the Board adopt the agenda as presented; Mitch MCGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Frank Figgers, Jeanne M. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey and Frank Figgers; votes cast against the motion: none.
- N. Reading and Approving of the Minutes:
 - a. August 31, 2023 Special Board Meeting Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a. Mitch McGuffey moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivale, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
 - b. September 19, 2023 Regular Boai:d Meeting Minutes: The Board voted to approve item b. Mitch McGuffey moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
 - c. <u>September 28, 2023 Special Board Meeting Minutes:</u> The Board voted to approve item c. <u>Mitch McGuffey moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion:</u> Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson, Dr. Hairston, <u>Mitch McGuffey and Barbara Billiard.</u>; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- V. Superintendent's Report:
- VI. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues: None.

- VII. Information Only Item(s):
 - a. Review of the Draft Optimization Plan
 - b. ESSER III Monthly Update August 16 September 15, 2023

VIII. Information/Action Ite.m (s):

- a. Approval. of the Renewal. Agreement between American College Testing (ACT) and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item a. Frank Figge.rs moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval of the Renewal. Agreement between Hinds Community College and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD) for a Dual Credit and Dual Enrollment Program: The Board voted to approve item b. Frank Figgers moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- c. Approval to Award REP 2023-15 to SCHOOLHOUSE.WORLD, INC. for High Impact Tutorial in the Middle School Division: The Board voted to approve item c. Frank Figgers moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- d. Approval to Transfer Sixtee.nth Section Revenue to District Maintenance: The Board voted to approve item d. Barbara Hilliard moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- e. :Approval of Amended Budgets for Fiscal Year 2023-2024; The Board voted to approve item e. Barbara Hilliard moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- f. Approval of a Resolution of the Board of Trustees Declaring the Necessity for and Intention of Borrow Money for Certain Purposes at an Approximate Cost of Not to Exceed Fifty-Seven Million Dollars (\$57,000,000): The Board voted to approve item f. Mitch McGuffey moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

IX. Consent Agenda Items - Finance:

- a. Approval. of Various Disbursements from Accounts Payable and Activity Funds:
 The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval to Accept Donations from Various Donors: The Board voted to approve item b. Barbara Hilliard moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- X. Consent Agenda Items General:

- a. Approval of District to District Tra.nsfer (Incoming/Ou.tgoing): The Board Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard voted, to approve item a. seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Mitch McGu.ffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- XI. Consent Agenda Items Personnel: a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matter: The Board voted to approve Staff Barbara Hilliard moved; Mitch McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none PASSED
- XII. Consideration to Hold Executive Session: Cynthia Thompson moved, and Frank Figgers seconded the motion, to close the meeting to consider entering into executive session. The motion was u.nanimously approved.

Barbar.a Hilliard moved, and Cynthia Thompson seconded the motion, to enter into executive session to receive an update and discuss legal issues and potential litigation regarding Entergy's closeout plan for Lake Hico and the retention of counsel. The motion was unanimously approved.

In executive session, the board received an update and discussed legal issues and potential. litigation regarding Entergy's closeout plan for Lake Hico and the retention of counsel. The board took no action regarding this matter. There being no further bu.siness to discuss in executive session, Frank Figgers moved, and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to exit executive session. The motion was unanimously approved.

Back in open session, there being no further business, Cynthia Thompson moved, and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimously approved and the meeting was adjourned.

XIII. Adjourn: Back in open session, there being no further business, Cynthia Thompson moved, and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to adjourn the The motion was unanimously approved and the meeting was adjourned,

President

W 1023