Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees March 19, 2024 5:30 p.m.

Board Members in Person

Ed Sivak, Jr., Board President

Barbara Hilliard, Vice-President

Cynthia Thompson, Secretary

Frank Figgers, Member

Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member

Mitch McGuffey, Member

Attorneys and Administrative Staff
Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent
Dorian Turner, Board Attorney
Larrissa Moore, ESQ., General Counsel
Elem.& High School Asst. Supt.

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> Ed Sivak, Board President, called the Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District to order on March 19, 2024, at 5:33 P.M.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum</u>: A quorum was established as all six (6) members, namely, Dr. Ed Sivak, Jr., Barbara Hilliard, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, and Cynthia Thompson participated via teleconference or in person. Mr. Figgers and Cynthia Thompson joined the meeting at 5:37 p.m.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Dr. Hairston motioned to approve the agenda as presented; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Barbara Hilliard, Jeanne M. Hairston, Dr. Sivak, and Mitch McGuffey; votes cast against the motion: none. Mr. Figgers and Cynthia Thompson had not yet arrived.
- IV. Reading and Approving of the Minutes:
 - a. March 5, 2024, Regular Board Meeting Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard moved; Mitch McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. Mr. Figgers and Cynthia Thompson had not arrived yet. PASSED
- V. Superintendent's Report:
- VI. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues:
- VII. Information Only Item(s):
 - a. ESSER III Monthly Update January 16 February 15, 2023 Graduation
 Rates Update
 Review of School Improvement Benchmark Results for Identified Schools
- VIII. Information/Action Item(s):
 - a. Approval of Signing Bonus Addendum for School Year 2024-2025: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Hairston moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

- b. Approval of the CTE Program Changes-Fiscal Year 2025: The Board voted to approve item b. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- c. Approval of Legacy Scholars Grant Agreement between Equal Justice Initiative and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item c. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- d. Approval of Amendment with Edmentum, Inc. and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item d. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- e. Approval of Request to Rescind and Revise: Amending March 5, 2024, 16th Section Lease Agreement with Big River Energy to Include Different Appraisal Provision: The Board voted to approve item e. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- f. Approval of Agreement with IMS Engineers, Inc. for District's Limited Tax Note Program: The Board voted to approve item f. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- g. Approval of Monthly Financial Report for the Month Ended February 29, 2024 (FY 2023-2024): The Board voted to approve item g. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

IX. Consent Agenda Items - Finance:

- a. Approval to Designated Specified Property as Surplus Property and Approve Disposal: The Board voted to approve item a. Mitch McGuffey moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval of Bid 3254 ESSER Program: Restroom and HVAC/Indoor Air Quality Improvements for Isable Elementary: The Board voted to approve item b. Mitch McGuffey moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- c. Approval of Various Disbursements from Accounts Payable and Activity Funds: The Board voted to approve item c. Mitch McGuffey moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

X. Consent Agenda Items - General:

- a. Approval of District-to-District Transfer (Outgoing): The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- XI. Consent Agenda Items Personnel:
 - a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matter: The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none.

 PASSED
- XII. Consideration to Hold Executive Session: Dr. Hairston moved, and Frank Figgers seconded the motion, to close the meeting to consider entering into executive session.

<u>In Closed Session</u>, Mitch McGuffey moved, and Frank Figgers seconded the motion, to enter executive session to consider and act on an employee nonrenewal recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

In executive session, the board considered the superintendent's recommendation to nonrenew Teresa Barnes. The board's findings and decisions are set out in the order attached hereto as Exhibit A.

There being no further business to discuss in executive session, Barbara Hilliard moved, and Frank Figgers seconded the motion to exit executive session. The motion was unanimously approved.

XIII. Adjourn: Back in open session, there was no further business. Mitch McGuffey moved, and Cynthia Thompson seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

Ed Sivak, Board President

Date

Cynthia Thompson, Board Member

Dato