Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees April 2, 2024 5:30 p.m.

Board Members in Person

Ed Sivak, Jr., Board President

Barbara Hilliard, Vice-President

Cynthia Thompson, Secretary

Frank Figgers, Member

Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member

Mitch McGuffey, Member

Attorneys and Administrative Staff
Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent
Dorian Turner, Board Attorney
Larissa Moore, ESQ., General Counsel
Elem.& High School Asst. Supt.

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> Ed Sivak, Board President, called the Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District to order on April 2, 2024, at 5:32 P.M.
- II. Establishment of Quorum: A quorum was established as all six (6) members, namely, Dr. Ed Sivak, Jr., Barbara Hilliard, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, and Cynthia Thompson participated in person.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Cynthia Thompson motioned to approve the agenda as presented; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Dr. Sivak, and Mitch McGuffey; votes cast against the motion: none. Dr. Hairston had not yet arrived.

  PASSED
  - IV. Reading and Approving of the Minutes:
    - a. March 19, 2024, Regular Board Meeting Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. Dr. Hairston had not yet arrived. **PASSED**
  - V. Superintendent's Report:
    - Dr. Hairston arrived at the meeting.
- VI. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues:

Janice Adams addressed the Board regarding the rezoning of  $\operatorname{Jim}$  Hill High School.

- VII. Information Only Item(s):
  - a. Student Board Presentation (Lanier High School)
- VIII. Information/Action Item(s):
  - a. Approval of the Amended Agreement between the Children's Defense Fund (CDF) and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD: The Board voted to approve item a. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

- b. Approval of the 16<sup>th</sup> Section Lease Agreement between the Jackson Public School District (JPSD) and Big River Energy: The Board voted to approve item b. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none.
  PASSED
- c. Approval of the 16<sup>th</sup> Section Lease Agreement between the Jackson Public School District and Clark Real Estate Investment, Tax Parcel #174-1-5: The Board voted to approve item c. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast agains the motion: none. PASSED
- d. Approval of the 16<sup>th</sup> Section Lease Agreement between the Jackson Public School District (JPSD) and Clark Real Estate Investment, Tax Parcel #174-1: The Board voted to approve item d. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- e. Approval of Legacy Scholars Grant Agreement with Equal Justice Initiative and Jackson Public School District (Murrah High School): The Board voted to approve item e. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- f. Approval of Legacy Scholars Grant Agreement with Equal Justice Initiative and Jackson Public School District (Jackson Middle College): The Board voted to approve item f. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- g. Approval of Engagement Letter between Morrison and Foerster, LLP: The Board voted to approve item g. Cynthia Thompson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

## IX. Consent Agenda Items - Finance:

a. Approval of Various Disbursements from Accounts Payable and Activity Funds:
The Board voted to approve item a. Mitch McGuffey moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

## X. Consent Agenda Items - General:

a. Approval of District-to-District Transfer (Incoming/Outgoing): The Board voted to approve item a. Frank Figgers moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

## XI. Consent Agenda Items - Personnel:

a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matters: The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Hairston moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

XII. Consideration to Hold Executive Session: Frank Figgers moved, and Cynthia Thompson seconded the motion, to close the meeting to consider entering into executive session. The motion was unanimously approved.

In Closed Session, Mitch McGuffey moved, and Barbara Hilliard seconded the motion, to enter executive session to consider and act on two termination recommendations and Dr. Greene's performance evaluation. The motion was unanimously approved.

In executive session, the board took up the superintendent's recommendation to terminate two employees, Teresa Davis and Cheryl Bowden Walker. board's findings and decisions are set out in the orders attached hereto as Exhibits A and B.

Next the board discussed Dr. Greene's performance and evaluation process. The board took no action on that matter.

There being no further business to discuss in executive session, Frank Figgers moved, and Dr. Hairston seconded the motion, to exit executive session. The motion was unanimously approved.

XIII. Adjourn: Back in open session, there was no further business. Cynthia Thompson moved, and Frank Figgers seconded the motion, to adjourn the The motion was unanimously approved and the meeting was meeting. adjourned.

Ed Sivak, Board President

Cynthia Thompson, Board Member