Regular Board Meeting Minutes of the Jackson Public School District

March 6, 2025, at 5:30 PM

Board Members Present Dr. Ed Sivak, Jr., Board President Barbara Hilliard, Vice-President Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston Frank Figgers, Member Mitch McGuffey, Member

Board Members via Teleconference Cynthia Thompson, Secretary Attorneys and Administrative Staff Dr. Michael Cormack, Deputy Supt. Dorian Turner, ESQ., Board Attorney Larissa Harris, ESQ., General Counsel Network Assistant Superintendent(s) Earl Burke, CFOO

Administrative Staff via Teleconference Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent

MINUTES

- I. <u>Call to Order</u>: Dr. Sivak, Board President, called the Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District to order on March 6, 2025, at 5:33 P.M.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum</u>: A quorum was established with all six (6) members participating in person or via teleconference: Ed Sivak, Jeanne M. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, and Barbara Hilliard were in person; Cynthia Thompson participated via teleconference. Frank Figgers joined the meeting in person at 5:59 p.m.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: The Board voted to adopt the agenda as presented; motion by Mitch McGuffey, seconded by Barbara Hilliard, votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion were none. Frank Figgers had not yet arrived. PASSED
- IV. Reading and Approving Minutes:
 - A. February 18, 2025, Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District: The Board voted to approve item a. Barbara Hilliard moved; Mitch McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. Frank Figgers had not yet arrived. PASSED
- V. <u>Superintendent's Remarks</u>: In Dr. Greene's absence, Dr. Cormack presented the superintendent's report on behalf of Dr. Greene.
- VI. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Issues: None.
- VII. Information Items Only:

A. School Improvement Board Updates

B. Review of the Renewal Agreement between Business Systems and Consultants (BSC) ~ Upland Software, Inc. and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD)

C. Review of the Renewal Agreement between Core Learning and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD)

D. Review of the Renewal Agreement between Sylvan Learning Center and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD)

E. Review of Agreement between NAF Academies and the Jackson Public School District

- VIII. Information / Action Items:
 - A. Approval of Engagement with The Law Offices of Anne T. Nguyen, Attorneys at Law: The Board voted to approve item a. Mitch McGuffey moved; Jeanne M. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
 - B. Approval of Right-of-Way Easement to Atmos Entergy Corporation: The Board voted to approve item b. Mitch McGuffey moved; Jeanne M. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
 - C. Approval of June 4, 2024, Board Minutes to Include Budget Hearing Agenda and Minutes: The Board voted to approve item c. Mitch McGuffey moved; Jeanne M. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

Ed Sivak and Frank Figgers recused themselves and left the meeting for consideration of the following item.

D. Approval of Round II of the Repurposing Initiative (Marshall Elementary <u>School</u>): The Board voted to approve item d. After discussion, Jeanne M. Hairston moved; Mitch McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion were Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

Dr. Sivak and Frank Figgers returned to the meeting after this discussion.

IX. CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS - Finance:

- A. Approval of Various Disbursements from Accounts Payable and Activity Funds: The Board voted to approve item a. Jeanne M. Hairston moved; Mitch McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- B. <u>Approval of RFP 2025-01 E-Rate School Replacement Switches</u>: The Board voted to approve item b. Jeanne M. Hairston moved; Mitch McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

X. CONCENT AGENDA ITEMS - General

A. Approval of Various Policies for Amendment | JBL: Minimum School Day, <u>Attendance, Tardiness and Excuses</u>: The Board voted to approve item a. Jeanne M. Hairston moved; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

- B. Approval of the 2025-2026 Academic Calendar for the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item b. Jeanne M. Hairston moved; Frank Figgers second; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- CONCENT AGENDA ITEMS Personnel: XI.
 - A. Approval of Personnel Matters: The Board voted to approve item a. Mitch McGuffey moved; Cynthia Thompson second; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Mitch McGuffey, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- XII. Consideration to Hold an Executive Session: None.
 - A. Review of Discipline Case(s): The parents did not appear.
- Adjourn: Frank Figgers moved, and Jeanne M. Hairston seconded the motion, to XIII. adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimously approved and the meeting adjourned at 6:10 p.m.

Signature of Board President

3/19/2025 Date

Board Secretar

Bate 3/18 /2025